Login | Join Free

Hotline

4008-655-800

What is the coating thickness test?

Date:2021-08-03 16:20:00 Views:1782

catalogue

summarysignificanceapplication area
Reference standardtypemethod
principleSample requirementsevaluation criterion


Overview of coating / coating thickness test

Plating is to coat a layer of plastic on the metal surface of some articles for good-looking or storage, or a thin layer of metal, or to imitate a precious metal, a thin layer of this precious metal is plated on the surface of ordinary metal. Coating thickness test the thickness test of metal and oxide coatings on the surface of materials. The surface covering layer is to make the material surface have certain strengthening, protection (such as anti-oxidation and anti-corrosion) decoration or special functions (such as conductivity, insulation, invisibility, etc.), and form one or more layers of covering layers with a certain thickness and different from the base material on the surface of metal or non-metal substrate by physical or chemical methods, so as to meet the requirements of product design and use.

The covering layer includes coating, non-metallic coating, coating, chemically generated film, etc. the covering layer is applied to the material surface to realize the special functions and properties of the material.

涂镀层厚度测试.jpg

Significance of thickness test of coated / coated products

In industrial production, if the thickness of the covering layer is too thin, it will be difficult to give full play to the special functions and properties of the material. If it is too thick, it will cause economic waste. Moreover, if the thickness of the covering layer is uneven or does not meet the specified requirements, it will have an adverse impact on its mechanical and physical properties. Therefore, the thickness uniformity of material surface coating is one of the most important product quality indexes.

The detection of material surface coating has become the most important process for material processing industry and users to detect product quality. It is also a necessary means for products to reach high-quality standards.


Application field of coating / coating thickness test

Electronics, automobile, aviation, materials, metals, ceramics and other manufacturing fields.


Reference standards for coating / coating thickness measurement

GB / T 6462-2005 measurement of thickness of metal and oxide coatings microscope method

Metallic coatings -- Measurement of coating thickness -- X-ray spectrometric method

ASTM b487-1985 (2007) test method for determination of metal and oxide layer by cross-sectional microscopic observation

ASTM b748-1990 (2010) test method for measuring metal coating thickness by measuring cross section with scanning electron microscope


Type of coating / coating thickness test

Protective coatings commonly used in industry include metal coatings and non-metal coatings:

1. Thickness of metal coating

The thickness and uniformity of metal coating is an important quality mark of coating, which affects the reliability and service life of products to a great extent. Detecting the thickness and uniformity of the metal coating on the material surface is helpful to monitor the product quality, improve the process and improve the benefit.

Objective: the thickness and uniformity of metal coating is an important quality mark of coating, which affects the reliability and service life of products to a great extent. Detecting the thickness and uniformity of the metal coating on the material surface is helpful to monitor the product quality, improve the process and improve the benefit.

Scope of application: it is mainly used for the protection of small and precision instrument parts and the repair of anti-wear shafts, as well as the beautiful appearance, decoration or conductivity, anti-corrosion performance of materials, etc.

2. Thickness of non-metallic coating

The surface of metal parts and equipment is covered with corrosion-resistant non-metallic protective layer, which is one of the important means of metal corrosion prevention. The purpose is to replace the metal / environment interface with the metal / non-metallic layer / environment interface, and use the corrosion resistance, impermeability and corrosion inhibition properties of non-metallic materials to protect metals from environmental erosion, so as to prolong their service life.

Objective: the surface of metal parts and equipment covered with corrosion-resistant non-metallic protective layer is one of the important means of metal corrosion prevention. The purpose is to replace the metal / environment interface with the metal / non-metallic layer / environment interface, and use the corrosion resistance, impermeability and corrosion inhibition properties of non-metallic materials to protect metals from environmental erosion, so as to prolong their service life. For example, the coating can be coated on the object surface by different construction processes, and a solid film with certain strength and continuity can be formed by using its own adhesion and curing ability, that is, the coating, also known as paint film or film. Many coatings are inert to acid, alkali, salt and other corrosive media, isolating the object from the corrosive environment, thus playing an anti-corrosion role.

Scope of application: according to the characteristics of metal parts and equipment and different corrosion environments, different types and thicknesses of corrosion-resistant non-metallic protective layers can be covered to protect the metal surface. This method has the characteristics of good protection effect, wide applicability, flexible use, convenient and simple construction, and is widely used in the anti-corrosion protection of metal components in various industries, such as automobile, bicycle, machinery manufacturing and other fields.

The test steps for the thickness of metal coating and non-metal coating are the same: sampling → cleaning → vacuum inlay → grinding → polishing → micro etching (if necessary) → gold spraying (if necessary) → observation.


Test method for coating thickness

The general methods to detect the coating thickness are: 1. Metallographic method; 2. Coulometric method; 3. X-ray method

Scope of application

Metallographic method:

It is a method to measure the local thickness of metal coating and oxide film by detecting the cross section with metallographic microscope. Generally, the thickness measurement needs to be greater than 1um to ensure that the measurement result is within the error range; The greater the thickness, the smaller the error.

Coulometric method:

It is suitable for measuring the thickness of single-layer and multi-layer metal coatings. Anodic dissolution coulometry includes measuring the thickness of multi-layer systems, such as Cu / Ni / Cr, alloy coatings and alloying diffusion layers. It can measure not only the coating thickness of plane samples, but also the coating thickness of cylinders and wires, especially suitable for measuring the metal and its potential difference of multi-layer nickel coating. The types of measured coatings are Au, Ag, Zn, Cu, Ni, DNI and Cr.

X-ray method:

It is suitable for measuring the thickness of metal coating that needs to be analyzed in electroplating, electronic circuit board and other industries. It includes the thickness of metal elements such as gold (AU), silver (Ag), tin (SN), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), chromium (CR).

This measurement method can simultaneously measure the three-layer overburden system or the thickness and composition of the three-layer components.


Principle of coating thickness measurement

Metallographic method:

Based on the principle of metallographic microscope, the coating thickness is enlarged for accurate observation and measurement.

Coulometric method:

The covering layer with accurately limited area is dissolved by appropriate electrolyte anode. The sharp change of electrolytic cell voltage shows that the covering layer is completely dissolved in essence. The thickness of the covering layer is calculated through the power consumption. Due to different anodic dissolution methods, the power consumption of the measured coating thickness is also different. When dissolved with constant current density, it can be calculated from the beginning of the test to the end of the test; When dissolved with non constant current density, the cumulative power consumption is calculated by the cumulative power consumption, and the cumulative power consumption is displayed by the electricity meter.

X-ray method:

X-ray spectroscopy is based on the interaction between a beam of intense and narrow polychromatic X-rays and the substrate and the coating. This interaction produces secondary radiation with discrete wavelength and energy, which has the characteristics of constituting covering layer and matrix elements. There is a certain relationship between the mass per unit area of the overburden (if the density is known, it is the linear thickness of the overburden) and the secondary radiation intensity. The relationship is first determined by the overburden correction standard block correction with known mass per unit area. If the density of the covering material is known and the actual density is given, such a standard block can give the linear thickness of the covering.


Coating thickness test sample requirements

Metallographic method:

Since the thickness of samples measured by metallographic method is local thickness, for some samples with inconsistent thickness, the customer needs to specify specific parts. If there are no special requirements, we will take a more uniform part for measurement.

Coulometric method:

At present, we can only measure the plating thickness of the plane, and the sample needs at least one 5 mm2 plane.

X-ray method:

Its area shall be at least greater than 0.05 × 0.25mm


Standard for quality evaluation of Electrodeposited Coatings

The quality inspection of electrodeposited coating includes the appearance, thickness, adhesion with base metal, ductility, microhardness, brittleness, corrosion resistance, wear resistance, weldability, etc. Although the specific quality inspection contents vary from part to part and coating, the appearance, thickness, corrosion resistance and adhesion with the base metal of the coating are the contents that must be inspected for all coatings. Each country has its own national standards and unified international standards for the quality inspection methods and evaluation of Electrodeposited coatings; Different enterprises also formulate corresponding enterprise standards.

1) Appearance of coating

The appearance of the coating is one of the items that must be checked for any part and any kind of plating. Generally, the appearance of the coating is directly observed with the naked eye under natural light. The content includes the macro uniformity, color, brightness, crystallization and macro adhesion of the forging layer. Generally speaking, in addition to its unique color and luster, the coating shall also be uniform, meticulous and have good adhesion. Pinholes, stripes, blisters, peeling, burrs, nodules, pockmarks, charring, cracking, peeling, falling off, abnormal color or missing plating are not allowed. However, for hanging plated parts, slight defects at the hook are generally allowed.

2) Thickness of coating

To ensure the service performance of parts, the coating on the surface of parts must reach a certain thickness. The commonly used coating thickness measurement methods include destructive and non-destructive. Destructive thickness measurement methods include anodic dissolution coulometry, metallographic method, dissolution weighing method, liquid flow method, drop method, etc; Non destructive thickness measurement methods include mechanical gauge method, magnetic method, eddy current method β X-ray backscattering, X-ray spectroscopy, etc. When using these methods to measure the thickness of the coating, please refer to the corresponding national standards.

3) Corrosion resistance of coating

There are two main test methods to evaluate the corrosion resistance of coatings: natural environment test and artificial accelerated corrosion test. The former includes field test under service environment and atmospheric exposure test under different climatic conditions. This kind of method can truly evaluate the corrosion resistance of coating, but the disadvantage is that the cycle is too long; The latter includes neutral salt spray test (NSS), copper acetate accelerated test (CASS), corrosion paste test, electrolytic corrosion test, industrial gas corrosion test, damp heat test, etc. All these corrosion resistance tests have corresponding national standards, which specify the test conditions and evaluation methods.

4) Adhesion of coating

There are many methods to test the bonding force (also known as bonding strength) between electrodeposited coating and base metal, but they are qualitative tests. The common test methods of coating adhesion include friction polishing test, peeling test, file test, cross marking test, bending test, thermal vibration test, deep drawing test, etc. Different methods are applicable to different coatings and have different evaluation standards. Please refer to the corresponding national standards for specific use.

会员登录 | 一账通登录 | 免费注册

全国热线

4008-655-800

涂镀层厚度测试是什么?

日期:2021-08-03 16:20:00 浏览量:918 标签: 涂镀层厚度测试

目录

概述

意义

应用领域

参考标准

类型

方法

原理

样品要求

评价标准


涂/镀层厚度测试概述

镀层是为了好看或储藏而涂在某些物品上的金属表面涂上一层塑料,或者一层稀薄的金属或为仿造某种贵重金属,在普通金属的表面镀上这种贵重金属的薄层。镀层厚度测试检测材料表面的金属和氧化物覆层的厚度测试。表面覆盖层是为了使材料表面具有一定的强化、防护(如防氧化防腐蚀)装饰或特殊功能(如导电、绝缘隔热隐形等),采用物理或化学等其他方法,在金属或非金属基体表面形成一层或多层具有一定厚度、不同于基体材料的覆盖层,以满足产品设计、使用要求。

覆盖层包含了镀层、非金属涂层、贴层、化学生成 膜等对材料表面施加覆盖层, 以实现材料的特殊功能和性能。

涂镀层厚度测试.jpg

涂/镀层产品厚度测试意义

在工业生产中,覆盖层的厚度过薄将难以发挥材料的特殊功能和性能等作用, 过厚则会造成经济上的浪费,而且覆盖层的厚薄不匀或未达到规定要求, 将会对其机械物理性能产生不良影响。因此,材料表面覆盖层的厚度均匀性是最为重要的产品质量指标之一。

对材料表面覆盖层进行检测,已成为材料加工工业和用户进行产品质量检测必备的最重要的工序,是产品达到优质标准的必备手段。


涂/镀层厚度测试应用领域

电子、汽车、航空、材料、金属、陶瓷品等各个制造领域。


涂/镀层厚度测量相关参考标准

GB/T 6462-2005 金属和氧化物覆盖层厚度测量显微镜法

GB/T16921-2005 金属覆盖层 覆盖层厚度测量 X射线光谱法

ASTM B487-1985(2007) 用横断面显微观察法测定金属及氧化层试验方法

ASTM B748-1990(2010) 通过用扫描电子显微镜测量横截面来测量金属涂层厚度的试验方法


涂/镀层厚度测试的类型

工业上普遍应用的保护层有金属覆盖层和非金属覆盖层两大类:

1.金属覆盖层厚度

金属覆盖层的厚度及其均匀性是覆盖层的重要质量标志,它在很大程度上影响产品的可靠性和使用寿命。检测材料表面的金属覆盖层的厚度及其均匀性,有助于监控产品质量,改善工艺,提高效益。

目的:金属覆盖层的厚度及其均匀性是覆盖层的重要质量标志,它在很大程度上影响产品的可靠性和使用寿命。检测材料表面的金属覆盖层的厚度及其均匀性,有助于监控产品质量,改善工艺,提高效益。

应用范围:主要应用于细小、精密的仪器仪表零件的保护和抗磨蚀的轴类的修复,以及材料外表美观、装饰或者导电、防腐蚀性能等等。

2.非金属覆盖层厚度

金属制件和设备的表面覆盖耐蚀非金属保护层是金属防腐蚀的重要手段之一。目的是将金属 /环境界面代之以金属/非金属层/环境的界面,利用非金属材料的耐蚀、抗渗、缓蚀性能保护金属免受环境的侵蚀,从而延长其使用寿命。

目的:金属制件和设备的表面覆盖耐蚀非金属保护层是金属防腐蚀的重要手段之一。目的是将金属 /环境界面代之以金属/非金属层/环境的界面,利用非金属材料的耐蚀、抗渗、缓蚀性能保护金属免受环境的侵蚀,从而延长其使用寿命。如涂层,可以采用不同的施工工艺涂覆在物体表面,利用自身的粘附性和固化能力形成与基体粘结牢固具有一定强度、连续的固态薄膜,即涂层,又称漆膜或涂膜。许多涂层对酸、碱、盐等腐蚀介质都显示惰性,将物件与腐蚀环境相隔离,从而起到了防腐蚀的作用。

应用范围:根据金属制件和设备的特性、腐蚀环境的不同,可以覆盖不同种类、不同厚度的耐蚀非金属保护层,使金属表面得到良好的保护。此类方法具有防护效果好、适用性广、使用灵活、施工方便简单等特点,广泛用于各行业金属构件防腐蚀保护,如汽车、自行车、机械制造等领域。

金属覆盖层厚度和非金属覆盖层厚度测试步骤相同:取样→清洗→真空镶嵌→研磨→抛光→微蚀(如有必要)→喷金(如有必要)→观察。


涂镀层厚度测试方法

一般检测镀层厚度检测的方法有:1、金相法;2、库仑法;3、X-ray 方法

适用范围

金相法:

采用金相显微镜检测横断面,以测量金属覆盖层、氧化膜层的局部厚度的方法。一般厚度检测需要大于1um,才能保证测量结果在误差范围之内;厚度越大,误差越小。

库仑法:

适合测量单层和多层金属覆盖层厚度阳极溶解库仑法,包括测量多层体系,如Cu/Ni/Cr以及合金覆盖层和合金化扩散层的厚度。不仅可以测量平面试样的覆盖层厚度,还可以测量圆柱形和线材的覆盖层厚度,尤其适合测量多层镍镀层的金属及其电位差。测量镀层的种类为Au、Ag、Zn、Cu、Ni、dNi、Cr。

X-ray 方法:

适用于测定电镀及电子线路板等行业需要分析的金属覆盖层厚度。 包括:金(Au),银(Ag),锡(Sn),铜(Cu),镍(Ni),铬(Cr)等金属元素厚度。

本测量方法可同时测量三层覆盖层体系,或同时测量三层组分的厚度和成分。


涂镀层厚度测试原理

金相法:

利用金相显微镜原理,对镀层厚度进行放大,以便准确的观测及测量。

库仑法:

利用适当的电解液阳极溶解精确限定面积的覆盖层,电解池电压的急剧变化表明覆盖层实质上完全溶解,经过所耗的电量计算出覆盖层的厚度。因阳极溶解的方法不同,被测量覆盖层的厚度所耗的电量也不同。用恒定电流密度溶解时,可由试验开始到试验终止的时间计算;用非恒定电流密度溶解时,由累积所耗电量计算,累积所耗电量由电量计累计显示。

X-ray 方法:

X射线光谱方法测定覆盖层厚度是基于一束强烈而狭窄的多色X射线与基体和覆盖层的相互作用。此相互作用产生离散波长和能量的二次辐射,这些二次辐射具有构成覆盖层和基体元素特征。覆盖层单位面积质量(若密度已知,则为覆盖层线性厚度)和二次辐射强度之间存在一定的关系。该关系首先由已知单位面积质量的覆盖层校正标准块校正确定。若覆盖层材料的密度已知,同时又给出实际的密度,则这样的标准块就能给出覆盖层线性厚度。


涂镀层厚度测试样品要求

金相法:

由于金相法测样品的厚度为局部厚度,对于一些厚度不一致的样品,需要客户指定具体部位。如没有特殊要求,我们将自行取一个较均匀的部位进行测量。

库仑法:

目前我们只能测平面的镀层厚度,样品需要至少一个5 mm2平面。

X-ray 方法:

其面积至少大于0.05×0.25mm


电镀层的质量评价标准

电镀层质量检查的内容包括镀层的外观、厚度、与基体金属的结合力、延展性、显微硬度、脆性、耐蚀性、耐磨性、可焊性等。虽然具体质量检查的内容因零件和镀层而异,但镀层的外观、厚度、耐蚀性和与基体金属的结合力是所有镀层都必须检查的内容。电镀层的质量检查方法和评判,各个国家有各自制定的国家标准,也有统一的国际标准;不同的企业也制定有相应的企业标准。

1)镀层的外观

镀层的外观是任一零件、任一镀种都必须检查的项目之一。通常,镀层的外观是在自然光照下直接用肉眼观察的。其内容包括锻层的宏观均匀性、颜色、光亮度、结晶状况和宏观结合力等。一般来说,镀层除应有其特有的颜色和光泽外,还应均匀、细致、结合力好,不允许有针孔、条纹、起泡、起皮、毛刺、结瘤、麻点、烧焦、开裂、剥离、脱落、不正常色泽或漏镀等。但对于挂镀件,一般允许挂钩处有轻微缺陷。

2)镀层的厚度

要保证零件的使用性能,零件表面的镀层必须达到一定的厚度。常用的镀层厚度测量方法包括破坏性和非破坏性两大类。破坏性测厚法包括阳极溶解库仑法、金相法、溶解称重法、液流法、点滴法等;非破坏性测厚法包括机械量具法、磁性法、涡流法、β射线反向散射法、x射线分光法等。采用这些方法测量镀层的厚度时请参照相应的国家标准。

3)镀层的耐蚀性

评定镀层耐蚀性的试验方法主要有两大类:自然环境试验和人工加速腐蚀试验。前者包括使用环境下的现场试验和不同气候条件下的大气暴露试验,这类方法可真实地评定镀层的耐蚀性,但缺点是周期太长;后者包括中性盐雾试验(nss)醋酸铜加速试验(cass)、腐蚀膏试验、电解腐蚀试验、工业性气体腐蚀试验、湿热试验等。所有这些耐蚀性试验都有相应的国家标准,其规定了试验的条件和评价方法。

4)镀层的结合力

电镀层与基体金属的结合力(也称结合强度)的检验方法有很多,但都是定性的测试。常见的镀层结合力的测试方法有摩擦抛光试验、剥离试验、锉刀试验、划格划线试验、弯曲试验、热振试验、深引试验等。不同的方法适用于不同的镀层,也有不同的评定标准,具体使用时可査阅相应的国家标准。


相关阅读
五月芯资讯回顾:原厂涨价函不断,疫情影响供应链

日期:2021-06-04 11:16:00

刚刚过去的五月,全球多地疫情反弹,大宗商品涨价延续,IC产业链毫无意外,缺货涨价仍是主旋律。下面就来梳理一下过去的一个月,业内都有哪些值得关注的热点。 查看全文>>

马来西亚管控延长,被动元件又悬了?

日期:2021-06-18 15:41:07

自五月以来,马来西亚疫情不断升温,每日新增确诊高峰曾突破9000例。严峻形势之下,马来西亚政府于6月1日开始执行为期半个月的全面行动管制。在这之后,每日新增病例呈现下降趋势。 查看全文>>

内存市场翻转,涨价来袭!

日期:2021-03-05 10:53:00

据媒体近日报道,内存正在重回涨价模式,从去年12月到今年1月,涨幅最多的品种已达30%。据行情网站数据,各类内存条、内存颗粒在12月上旬起开始涨价,至今仍没有停止的意思。 查看全文>>

被动元件涨价启动,MLCC和芯片打头阵

日期:2021-03-05 10:52:00

据台媒近日报道,MLCC两大原厂三星电机和TDK近期对一线组装厂客户发出通知,强调高容MLCC供货紧张,即将对其调涨报价。在芯片电阻市场,台厂国巨正式宣布从三月起涨价15-25%。紧接着,华新科也对代理商发出涨价通知,新订单将调涨10-15%。 查看全文>>

深圳福田海关查获大批侵权电路板,共计超过39万个

日期:2021-03-05 11:12:00

据海关总署微信平台“海关发布”10日发布的消息,经品牌权利人确认,深圳海关所属福田海关此前在货运出口渠道查获的一批共计391500个印刷电路板,侵犯了UL公司的“RU”商标专用权。 查看全文>>

可靠性测试:常规的可靠性项目及类型介绍

日期:2021-04-26 16:17:00

可靠性试验是对产品进行可靠性调查、分析和评价的一种手段。试验结果为故障分析、研究采取的纠正措施、判断产品是否达到指标要求提供依据。根据可靠性统计试验所采用的方法和目的,可靠性统计试验可以分为可靠性验证试验和可靠性测定试验。可靠性测定试验是为测定可靠性特性或其量值而做的试验,通常用来提供可靠性数据。可靠性验证试验是用来验证设备的可靠性特征值是否符合其规定的可靠性要求的试验,一般将可靠性鉴定和验收试验统称为可靠性验证试验。 查看全文>>

产品进行可靠性测试的重要性及目的

日期:2021-04-26 16:19:00

产品在一定时间或条件下无故障地执行指定功能的能力或可能性。可通过可靠度、失效率还有平均无故障间隔等来评价产品的可靠性。而且这是一项重要的质量指标,只是定性描述就显得不够,必须使之数量化,这样才能进行精确的描述和比较。 查看全文>>

汇总:半导体失效分析测试的详细步骤

日期:2021-04-26 16:29:00

失效分析是芯片测试重要环节,无论对于量产样品还是设计环节亦或是客退品,失效分析可以帮助降低成本,缩短周期。 常见的失效分析方法有Decap,X-RAY,IV,EMMI,FIB,SEM,EDX,Probe,OM,RIE等,因为失效分析设备昂贵,大部分需求单位配不了或配不齐需要的设备,因此借用外力,使用对外开放的资源,来完成自己的分析也是一种很好的选择。我们选择去外面测试时需要准备的信息有哪些呢?下面为大家整理一下: 查看全文>>

芯片常用失效分析手段和流程

日期:2021-04-26 16:41:00

一般来说,集成电路在研制、生产和使用过程中失效不可避免,随着人们对产品质量和可靠性要求的不断提高,失效分析工作也显得越来越重要,通过芯片失效分析,可以帮助集成电路设计人员找到设计上的缺陷、工艺参数的不匹配或设计与操作中的不当等问题。芯片失效分析的常用方法不外乎那几个流程,最重要的还是要借助于各种先进精确的电子仪器。以下内容主要从这两个方面阐述,希望对大家有所帮助。 查看全文>>

值得借鉴!PCB板可靠性测试方法分享

日期:2021-04-26 16:47:42

PCB电路板是电子元件的基础和高速公路,又称印刷电路板,是电子元器件电气连接的提供者。它的发展已有100多年的历史了;它的设计主要是版图设计;采用电路板的主要优点是大大减少布线和装配的差错,提高了自动化水平和生产劳动率。PCB的质量非常关键,要检查PCB的质量,必须进行多项可靠性测试。这篇文章就是对测试的介绍,一起来看看吧。 查看全文>>